la_samtyr: asian art drawing of sleeping cat (Default)
[personal profile] la_samtyr
Not to worry, this is all about movies prior to this year, so no spoilers.

As most of you know, I love movies. As in *LOVE* them. But I have always had weird things happen to me when I go, and so I thought I would share some of them here. Who knows, maybe one of you can help me turn it into a screenplay, yeah? :) Here I will share a few of the "odder" highlights.

1997: Titanic -- This is one of the very few uber-long films that I actually went to see in the theatre, and probably why I am not too keen on movies that run much over 2 hrs anymore. Of course, I went with a friend. We went in, settled down in our seats when she turns to me and says "I hope I won't get seasick. Seeing lots of water can make me feel seasick." I'm trying to unboggle my mind at this point because Hello! It's Titanic! Only the most famous shipwreck ever -- of course there will be "lots of water." And sure enough, she was seasick. Throughout the whole freakin' film, since, oh IDK only 99.9% of the blasted film (Which is *only 197 minutes long) involves ocean (water) footage of some sort? ::headdesk:: Yeah.

1999: 10 Things I Hate About You -- My cousin Elle chose this one and I have learned from long painful experience that if there is one horrendous movie to be seen, that is the one she will pick 99.9% of the time. How/why she chose this one remains a total mystery because it is actually *good*, and literally about the only decent film she has ever managed to choose. I am still avoiding her movie picks, btw. I wanted to see a new sci-fi movie called "The Matrix" that I had heard very good things about, but she said it looked "too weird". We "discussed" it outside the theatre and finally she almost literally dragged me in the building. "But I wanna see 'Matrix'." "This is Shakespeare. You love Shakespeare." "How about if we go and see 'Shakespeare on the Green' in the summer with a theatre group. My treat?" "No. We are seeing *this*." "But I don't wanna... I don't wanna... no no no no..." Well, she was the guest so I gave in with as good grace as was possible though I did make her pay for the tickets while I bought snacks. So, we went in and I began to wonder what the odds were that the projector might break in time so we could manage to see 'Matrix' anyway. But the projector failed to break and I was soon caught up in the film, especially with a young Aussie named Heath Ledger. I *loved* it and once we were outside so she could have a smoke and playing it super-super cool I asked her if she planned to see it again. No, was her answer because that blond guy had a funny accent and was hard to understand. Again, I try to unboggle my mind at her words but sometimes people are just *weird*.

1999: The Matrix -- I saw this one w/a gf who actually loved scifi. Oddly enough, nothing weird happened here, sorry. Great film, not too overly long. Agent Smith is a wonderful baddie, one of the creepiest I've ever seen.

2001: The Fellowship of the Ring -- I had been looking forward to this for a long time even though it was another uber-long one. I was still pretty new to the internet so I was pretty much unspoiled, which is how I wanted it. I went with my gf, the same one who saw 'Matrix' with me. That was a mistake, though I didn't know it at the time. The theatre was fairly crowded and more people came in after we sat down. (Remember this, it is important.) So the lights go down, the trailers start -- and then the movie begins. Now as I said, I was unspoiled for this and I wasn't thinking much beyond "elves, hobbits, middle earth, wizards, etc. etc." and so the narration was pretty cool -- for roughly the first two minutes. Then, just as I saw an all-too familiar face (Gil-galad's herald), my arm was grabbed, fingers digging in a death grip as my friend stage-whispers in my ear: "IT"S AGENT SMITH!!" Well. I went from relaxed and enjoying the movie unfold to sitting straight up in my seat, and half-panicked in about 0.00002 seconds. Why and how half of the theatre did not turn around to stare is beyond me. Nor do I know how I kept *my* seat. While the film was by no means ruined for me, I have never liked Elrond since. Pity, because I know that I used to like him a great deal. But now? Sadly, Agent Smith seems inextricably to Elrond in my mind and I cannot seem to separate them; I have it on good authority from other LotR sibs that this will probably never happen.

2005/6: Brokeback Mountain -- I've already written about this multiple times, so no recap here. You'll have to go back and look for specific posts but if you've read this far, you probably already know how I feel about this one and why.

2008: The Dark Knight -- Again, I've written about this multiple times and you should already know how I feel about it.

Date: 2009-05-07 07:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dazedpuckbunny.livejournal.com
This would be a fun meme! List five movies that were memorable in the theater and what they mean to you or sommat like that!

Date: 2009-05-08 12:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] samtyr.livejournal.com
Yes, it really would -- heh heh, I made up a meme and didn't even realize it, lol. Are you going to do it then? ::looks hopeful:: Cool!

Date: 2009-05-09 06:54 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dazedpuckbunny.livejournal.com
I'm totally gonna do it! :) *runs to do so*

Date: 2009-05-09 01:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] samtyr.livejournal.com
I'm looking forward to reading it. :)

Date: 2009-05-07 07:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ransom-gillis.livejournal.com
I don't know who Agent Smith is, alls I know is that Hugo Weaving was in the movie Pricilla, Queen of the Desert, a fantastic film, and so when I saw him as Elrond the first time I saw Fellowship I was all "Ooh, it's Mitzi!" Hee. :)

Date: 2009-05-08 01:07 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] samtyr.livejournal.com
Oddly, I had seen Hugo Weaving in "Priscilla" and "Bedrooms and Hallways" before "Matrix" and I honestly wish I had seen FotR w/you because I so wanted to like Elrond. Agent Smith was his big 'breakout' role in "Matrix" that was right before LotR.

Date: 2009-05-08 11:24 am (UTC)
ext_93294: (Default)
From: [identity profile] j-dav.livejournal.com
I think I like all your picks.

10 things i hate about you is a favorite mainly because of Ledger whom I adore in 1st Knight, Brokeback and Dark knight. And the plucky girl. And the flash scene. Loads of reasons':)

I think I get the reason for the Mitzi vendetta now.

But you made it a meme, you know :) You can't resist them.

Date: 2009-05-08 02:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] samtyr.livejournal.com
I think if I could have made it beyond those first few moments of surprise, I would have been ok. But I have a low startle point at times and that definitely was one of them.

Are you going to do it as a meme then? :) Please?

Date: 2009-05-08 02:31 pm (UTC)
ext_93294: (Default)
From: [identity profile] j-dav.livejournal.com
I think I am lured into memes by you. You start them and I snag them. *Wry smile* I will try to do this, picking out 5 movies is hard. I love a lot of them.

*hugs*

Date: 2009-05-08 02:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] samtyr.livejournal.com
Who, me? Lure? ::looks innocent:: Surely you must be mistaken! 0:)

I am looking forward to reading your meme.

Date: 2009-05-08 03:16 pm (UTC)
ext_93294: (Default)
From: [identity profile] j-dav.livejournal.com
I do insist that you are a lure, I think I might be hard put to review a movie that I like and has not been reviewed in your LJ. I spent all this time searching here for a movie left out. Have you seen all that I have seen? *grumbles*

Let me go through your lists once more, in the meanwhile I have a wip that I post on the archives and lj only to see people throwing it over for Erestor/Glor, Aragorn/Legolas and hobbit slash.


Date: 2009-05-08 03:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] samtyr.livejournal.com
There are a lot of movies I haven't seen -- we just have really good taste in movies. :)

Sadly, I am way behind in reading your wip; I was just starting when a lot of legal/rl things got crazy and I need to go and re-read it from the beginning now that I can concentrate again.

Date: 2009-05-08 03:48 pm (UTC)
ext_93294: (Default)
From: [identity profile] j-dav.livejournal.com
I can think of only crappy movies like D.O.A and Charlie's angels which have escaped your reviews...Almost all my favorites are here.Hmm, I will delve into the older ones.

I think you are talking about the song of sunset wip? I have 4 wips running. The one I am complaining about is the famously underread Journal. *winks*

Date: 2009-05-08 03:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] samtyr.livejournal.com
Actually I was talking about "The Journal". :) Like I said, I had started it... but I wanted to be able to devote my time to it and not be distracted. I am hoping I can read it this weekend, at least enough to catch up.

Date: 2009-05-08 04:06 pm (UTC)
ext_93294: (Default)
From: [identity profile] j-dav.livejournal.com
Oh, you were trying to read it? I seriously think that I would not read it myself given the way it has been received.

I think that even Tom Cruise's War of the Worlds was better received.

Profile

la_samtyr: asian art drawing of sleeping cat (Default)
la_samtyr

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 08:38 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios